As the years pass, life becomes increasingly frustrating

It’s really sad that most people (even your family and friends) don’t bother to read between the lines of your actions. They don’t look for any other (deeper or otherwise) meaning on why a person would do the things they do or act the way they do. They only listen to what they want to hear or choose to listen only to one side of the story. They fail to realize that one person’s truth may not completely tell the whole story. 

For example, a few months ago, a collegue (and close friend outside the office) was asking for a favor. I laughed awkwardly saying it can’t be done. This person got mad, storming off. It was sad because, this person, who shall not be named, immediately complained to some of our friends about what I did wrong in her point of view. Then, when I went to speak with one of our friends she ignored me and was even sarcastic. It made me incredibly sad because, they never asked me why I did that.

Honestly, it was because this person asked me for a favor inside the office wherein we were within earshot of everyone else. If I did them a favor and others followed as well, I’m the one who will get in trouble if I showed partiality to friends. I would be no better than people who show nepotism. 

They never really asked me for my side of the story. 

And I guess, at the end of the day, I’d rather be seen as a villain than force people to believe my side of things. If you can’t understand my reasons (verbally stated or implied) and you can’t be bothered to read between the lines then there’s no point in explaining. In the end, you will still choose what you want to believe in. 

I wish there would come a time when I will meet someone who’ll read between my actions and words, look beyond what they see through their biased vision.

Leave a Reply

